Creativity in Photography

As a photographer, making images is not composed of formulas, it is creativity. In order to be creative, I have to be open to situations, not distracted, and I have to be ready when the light or action is happening. My love-hate relationship with gears, or lack of it, gave me that time and flexibility to test myself.

There is a lot of pressure to be one of those people with the huge camera bag and big expensive lenses, but the reality is that my gears have nothing to do with how good I am as a photographer. Gears do help, it is even necessary to a certain extent, but its presence or price tag is not reflective of who I am. It’s the images that matter.

I’ve decided to test out my skills in night photography using a mirrorless camera with a 24-70mm f/2.8 lenses in the recently concluded 29th Macao Firework Displays Competition. Nothing fanciful but using my eyes, knowledge from what I’ve learnt in videos and magazines, I went about my photo shoots over numerous weekends in the month of September. One word summed up my experiences, “fun’, yes I really had fun. The time spent for me to get to know my simple gears better has also given me renewed enthusiasm to look forward to my next assignment better.

Until my next posting, check out my images and let me know your thoughts😉.`

Leave a comment